window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-86299064-11'); DC Health Releases List of High-Risk States - Foxhall

DC Health Releases List of High-Risk States

D.C.’s executive order calling for anyone traveling to the District for nonessential activities from places deemed Covid-19 hot spots to self-quarantine has been updated with a list of 31 states it considers high-risk as of October 5, 2020.

Arizona was removed from the new list, while New Mexico was added. The nearby states of West Virginia and Delaware remain on the list after being added two weeks ago. The District defines high-risk states as those with a seven-day moving average of daily new coronavirus cases of 10 or more per 100,000 people.

The complete list of states in D.C.’s latest order includes:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Travelers from states deemed hot spots must isolate and monitor for symptoms for 14 days. The neighboring states of Maryland and Virginia are exempt from the order.

People coming into the District for essential purposes — including members of Congress — are not required to self-quarantine upon their arrival. Instead, D.C. advises those coming for essential purposes to monitor for symptoms and seek medical help or testing if they feel ill.

Under the order, travel is deemed essential if it is related to essential business, essential government functions and minimum basic operations, as well as travel to care for vulnerable people or travel to a residence outside of D.C.

D.C. will next update the list of high-risk states on Oct. 19.